top of page
  • dianaji9

What Does Toner Do In A Skincare Routine?

Updated: Jan 1, 2022

Why do you add toner to your skincare routine?

I started using toner a while ago to understand the real value, or not, of toner. Toner always seemed to me to be like TV commercials. Do I really have to pay attention?! Come to find out I did need to pay attention to Toner. Here's why? Toner removes the left behind impurities after you wash your face and it restores your skin's pH level. Ok, that sounds good. What does it mean? Toner removes the last traces of dirt and impurities stuck in your pores after cleanser. When added to your daily skincare routine and used regularly, it can have a beneficial effect on tightening pores that only washing your face won't.


Do I need to use toner?

Our skin is naturally acidic, and a normal pH balance range is between 5 and 6 (out of 14). Our pH balance can get out of balance from washing with alkaline cleansers. When this happens, your skin wants to return to normal. A good toner can help restore this balance quickly. Toner vs no toner. Read further to decide for yourself.


Do I Need To Use Toner Before Serum?

Yes, it's best too, as toner prepares our skin for the serum. Toners can be used AM and PM after cleansing. You may just want to do it once a day, that's fine, but always best to incorporate a toner into your day. This is why I first tried Lancome's Tonique Confort (an Amazon Choice). And when I finished that, I decided to try Aveda's Toning Mist. I added Lancome Tonique Confort to my daily skincare routine AM and PM, regularly, and indeed I saw the benefit in my appearance and tightness of my pores. The older I get the more noticeable they seem to be. And surprisingly, my face felt softer after using the toner, a noticeable difference from just washing. So, if you want to close pores and tighten cell gaps after washing ton visage (your face) and further remove makeup and environmental contaminants, toner is for you. And it's known to protect and remove chlorine and minerals present in tap water that you wash your face with.


Lancome Tonique Confort (Confort means Comfort in French) was soothing and has a silky, serum-like texture. It is fine for all skin types, even sensitive skin. It is made with Hyaluronic Acid, Acacia Honey & Sweet Almond Oil.


Next, I tried Aveda's Botantical Kinetics™ Skin Toning Agent. It's a mist. So, no need for cotton rounds. I particularly loved the ease of this when I traveled; just spray. I sometimes have folliculitis outbreaks, that's another story for another post. I found that this cooling toner mist helped keep my outbreaks at bay. This makes sense because Salicylic Acid is one of its ingredients that acts as an exfoliant and anti-acne agent. It's also formulated with Echinacea, a moisturizer, and Rose Flower Oil which offers benefits of an antioxidant, and antimicrobial/​antibacterial and fragrance. After regular morning use, I noticed how this Toning Mist reduced the redness on my face and it felt refreshing.


p.s. It's packaged in RECYCLEABLE PBA-free plastic containers.








Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page